Source : The Hindu Date : 25.06.2009

Yeddyurappa optimistic about 'Vision 2020' blueprint

Special Correspondent

Says Karnataka can reach the top slot in India with its help

BANGALORE: Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa on Wednesday expressed optimism that Karnataka could emerge as number one in the country if the blueprint for development drawn up by the Vision 2020 Task Force was implemented.

"I believe that Karnataka, which is placed seventh in the country's development map, can reach the top slot with the help of the blueprint," Mr. Yeddyurappa said while addressing a meeting of the Vision Group 2020 here.

12 key areas

The Chief Minister said the Vision 2020 Task Force had dwelt upon 12 key areas, including Agriculture, Rural Development, Education, Health, Irrigation and Transport, to achieve all-round development of the State.

Pointing out that the Cabinet, at its meeting on May 22, 2009, had approved the Vision 2020 document, Mr. Yeddyurappa directed the Planning and Finance departments to initiate steps to include its contents in the next State Budget.

Yeddyurappa optimistic about 'Vision 2020' blueprint | ...

Written by Administrator Friday, 26 June 2009 06:41 - Last Updated Friday, 26 June 2009 06:44

The Vision 2020 document has recommended steps for increasing income through agriculture, creating employment avenues for the working class through skill development and financial assistance, creating a knowledge society, improving the quality of healthcare for all sections of society, planned industrialisation and urbanisation and appropriate representation to women in economic, social and political areas.

The document also recommends steps to improve power availability to boost productivity, conserving the State's environmental and natural resources, ensure Bangalore occupies the pre-eminent position in information technology, and achieving decentralisation through administrative reforms.

The meeting was attended by Deputy Chairman of State Planning Board D.H. Shankaramurthy and senior officials of the State government.